The Culture Of It All! Podcast
The Culture Of It All!
E011 Fat Positive Fall
0:00
-32:44

E011 Fat Positive Fall

Season 2: The F-Words

Welcome to a brand new season of The Culture Of It All! I’m back this season to explore and discuss the F Words with y’all. You’ll hear from me, and some incredible guests as we chat about topics such as the Fashion Industry, Fat Representation, Fiction, Plus Size Fitness, and Food.

There are so many F words associated with diet culture, and not even the ones you’re thinking of… also feel free to send me the F words you think I should talk about!


S2: E011 Fat Positive Fall

📷: c/o Amy Ellis Photo

In this episode I am easing us into this new season and discussing fat positivity with a twist. When I started this podcast, I realised very quickly that even when you surround yourself with anti diet and body positive content, the diet culture and weight loss content also ramps up. Meta, and I’m sure other platforms, don’t recognise anti diet culture content and assume I want to see weight loss accounts.

At the same time, I am hyper aware of how other content creators are treated online and it’s really daunting to speak up and put your larger body online. I’ve noticed that more intrusive and negative thoughts about my body have popped up, I’m able to navigate through them, but want to focus on the energy of this quote:

“There’s so much more to the fat experience than just the horror stories.”

- from Brooke Hull via BodyLiberationPhotos.Com

Yes, the horror stories fuel this work, I will use my voice to advocate for those who don’t feel seen and heard, and I also want to embrace more fat joy and positivity. This summer was not as hard as the previous years, I was super prepared and I’m taking so much of what I’ve learned into this new season with me.

📷: c/o Amy Ellis Photo

Takeaways

  • Melanie introduces the new season of her podcast, 'The Culture of It All,' where she explores and discusses various topics related to ditching diet culture and living life in a larger body.

  • She emphasises the importance of joy, healing, and positive experiences in a larger body, and shares her personal intentions for a 'Fat Positive Fall.'

  • Melanie reflects on her journey of being more visible online and the challenges and rewards that come with it.

  • Melanie discusses the impact of diet culture on mental and emotional well-being, and the need to challenge societal norms and expectations.

"Quitting dieting feels like an audacious act."

The Culture Of It All! Podcast is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Chapters

00:00 Introduction and Season Overview

03:53 The Evolving Relationship Of Being Visible Online

05:47 Fat Positivity + My Relationship With My Body

13:44 Navigating Negativity and Trolls on Social Media

15:18 The Audacious Act of Quitting Dieting

20:38 Pursuing Gentle and Joyful Movement

23:04 Finding a Comfortable Pace in Work and Life

24:47 Getting Dressed, Styling Outfits, and Sharing Fashion

28:25 Excitement for Fall Activities and Plans


🗓️ Coming Up in September

September 10th

Myth Busting Minisode: eating in Moderation, 80/20 and balance

September 17th

E012: Flattering, Femininity & Fitting In: How I Reclaimed My Passion for Fashion (in a larger body)

September 24th

Bonus: From binging to only having one

Thanks for reading The Culture Of It All! Podcast! This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Discussion about this podcast

The Culture Of It All! Podcast
The Culture Of It All!
Your anti-diet sidekick and go-to resource as we explore what it really means to ditch diet culture whilst living life in a larger body. Your host, Melanie Knights will be sharing stories, busting diet culture myths, and breaking through the bullshit of the diet industry.
Discussing topics such as anti-fatness, body liberation, body positivity, media representation, and intuitive eating. We will create a foundation for bodily autonomy, and take actionable steps to advocate for, and honour our own needs so that we can take up space, challenge weight stigma, and live a more confident, comfortable and joyful fat life!